Venting some Frustration

Good ol' Java at it again!

Yessir, this is a great installer for Java's recent update! It even achieves 'smartarse' status.

The left hand panel comes up as you let the Install Wizard do it's thang. "You have successfully installed Java" with a tickbox (ticked by default) that says 'Restart my browser to complete the installation', and a close button.

With several tabs of work-related content open, I don't want to close my browser right now, and figure (like many 'restart required' installers) that i'll simply restart my browser in a few minutes time.

Oh no. Not that simple. Deselecting the tickbox results in the right hand panel popping up. Can anyone explain for me why a full computer restart would be required if I failed to restart my browser when demanded?

At this point I had to laugh; what's the point in providing a deselect tickbox if you're then going to in effect use scaremongering tactics on your users?

I closed down Firefox and then clicked OK. IE was still there (whoopsie) and when that restarted It sent me directly to the 'verify your version of Java' website (instead of opening the tabs i'd had open prior. Interestingly, IE is not my default browser. I clicked 'home' and went on with my life.

In hindsight this probably doesn't seem as bad as it sounds, however, I found the above pretty damn rediculous and actually somewhat rude...